Five Photos

IMG_2265.jpg

COLOR

My first image focuses on color.  This is a picture from the ice castle spectacular in New Hampshire.  I zoomed in on the image so the color would be more vibrant.  The image itself is a man made ice mound carved into a castle-like structure with lights wired through the ice.  I thought this picture was an interesting way to portray color because the texture and carvings in the ice, and the way the lights are wired through the ice create an ombre effect.  It looks like a piece of art, almost like a water color painting.

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 3.21.08 PM.png

RELATIVE SIZE

My next image is of the Breakers in Newport.  The mansion is HUGE!  I felt that shooting the image head on did not give the size  of the mansion justice.  So, I decided to walk a distance from the mansion and instead of taking the picture at a long or medium shot, I decided to take it at a low angle shot with the camera pointed up.  By doing this I successfully made the mansion seem even larger than it actually is, ultimately conveying, if not exaggerating, how grand the mansion is in person.

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 3.24.49 PM.png

LINE

This is an image taken of a pier in Bristol, Rhode Island.  I thought the depth of the lines in the image were interesting and added a substantial amount of texture.  I zoomed in on the image in order to capture the grooves in the wood.  I took the picture at a high angle shot because I liked the way it created movement with the liens.  This is one of my favorite images.  I like this image also because of the perpendicular lines between the floor and the fence create shadows. Interestingly enough, despite the picture looking like it was shot in black and white, it actually has no filter on it at all.  The angle I shot the image with interacted with the sun, creating this effect.

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 3.21.44 PM.png

SHAPE

This photo was taken in Newport as well.  I thought the shape of the bricks looked interesting with the shadows of leaves and the ornaments.  I also liked how in the image the bricks look crooked and distorted.  They look like they are falling apart.  I also like the how the ornament and leaves stick out from the image.  Everything looks like you could reach out and touch the objects in the photograph. I think this is because of the way the light creates shadows, making the image more life-like.

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 3.22.15 PM.png

 

STRUCTURE

This final image is an example of structure.  The structure is an example of real life art.  But, if you really look at it, the structure itself is very clever. It is very fluid and graceful looking. It also is divided into unique pieces like a puzzle.  Each part or section of the structure allows you to see a different view.  It allows someone to see every part outside of the structure from a different perspective.  This is quite interesting because it not only is a piece of art itself, but also forces viewers to take in different perspectives created by the art itself.

Through this post, I was attempting to convey an understanding of sensory within photographs.  I wanted to use images I’d taken that I was very fond of and see how they met this criteria.  One of the problems I encountered was that I had trouble choosing between pictures.  I did not particularly have an AHA! moment during this project.  If I had more time and resources, instead of using my phone, I would have used my Nikon camera.

 

2 thoughts on “Five Photos

  1. Kristen — deadline was February 8 — this is dated February 9. Is this a Time Zone problem that hasn’t been fixed yet?

    Like

Leave a comment